Daniel Andor

Un Autre Jeu
for clarinet, trumpet, piano, violin and cello

duration: 3 minutes

Un Autre Jeu
Programme note will appear shortly...

Daniel Andor-Ardó (born 1978, Budapest)

Daniel graduated with an MSci in Physics from the University of Cambridge in 2000, where he is currently doing his PhD, which includes research on the physics of hearing. In his first year in Cambridge he founded the Cambridge University New Music Society (CUNMS), and it was for a CUNMS Composition Masterclass with Brian Ferneyhough that he composed Un Autre Jeu (shortlisted for spnm).

At the age of four he started playing the piano, and at ten composing, while at the Purcell School of Music. Daniel studied with Param Vir, Alison Cox, Julian Anderson and Brian Elias. He also pursued his composition studies at Royaumont, Domaine Forget and the Bartok Seminar, studying with Brian Ferneyhough, Marco Stroppa, Magnus Lindberg and Franco Donatoni.

In 1994 his Elegy for the Prelude (1994) was highly commended by the Royal Philharmonic Society and in 1995 his Toccata (1995) and Cello Chiaroscuro (1993) won First and Second Prize in the US Composers’ Guild Competition. Several of his pieces have been performed in Canada, England, Hungary and France. He is interested in writing music for dance, and is a keen dancer himself.

For many years he has been playing classical, jazz and big band trombone in various orchestras and ensembles. An avid conductor, his conducting experience includes Bartók, Prokofiev, Stravinsky, Shostakovich, R. Strauss, as well as his own pieces.

Daniel would like to thank Jesus College, Cambridge for their support.

Back to shortlist.