Robin Hagues

The Wayfarers

for tenor and large orchestra

3 fl (3rd doubling pic), 3 ob (3rd doubling ca), 3 cl (3rd doubling bcl), 3 bn, 4 hn, 3 trp, 3 trb, tba, timp, perc, harp, cel, strings

duration: 10 minutes

The Wayfarers is a setting for large orchestra and Tenor soloist of a sonnet by Rupert Brooke. As the Tenor journeys through the poem he remembers various moments and feelings. These memories are conveyed through the orchestra by quoting extracts of pre-existing pieces which create emotional resonances within the music. This technique – referentialism – saturates the music and raises the references to a structural rather than localised level. In this sense the technique should be seen in the philosophical and musical context of leitmotif.

The climax of the piece increases the interplay of references and introduces a chorale melody. As the wayfarer nears the end of his journey this chorale, with its implied textual significance, directs him away from purely human love towards the transcendence of divine love.

Robin Hagues (b. Leeds 1969) read music at Oxford University and currently works freelance for music publishers as a type-setter and arranger. Other works include 'Quintet' for Oboe, Clarinet, Trombone, Tuba and Percussion and a Piano sonata (under revision).

Back to shortlist.