Chris Haines

String Quartet

duration: 12 minutes

String Quartet
The titles of the three movements which make up the String Quartet are all named after or associated with artists that are well known for their distinctive styles. Like the styles of the artists the separate movements are individual in their characteristics, but are also related to one another as part of the concaved anti-arch type structure that shapes the piece as a whole.

The small fragment of material used in the first movement is constantly re-interpreted like the multi-dimensional viewpoints of the cubist technique. The second movement is rhythmically concerned with the echoes of a previous composition and gains its title from a painting by Mark Rothko, whilst meditating on the medical complaint of synesthesia. Lastly the third movement is a homage to Kurt Schwitters

Chris-Mathew Haines
As an undergraduate Chris-Mathew studied composition with Paul Edlin and mandolin with Alison Stephens at Christchurch University in Canterbury, where he graduated with a first class honours degree.

He has recently completed an Mmus in composition under Roger Redgate at Goldsmiths University in London. Recent performances of his works have included Musaico by the Britten Sinfonia Soloists, 3 Movements for violin duo by members of the Kreutzer Quartet, Missa(d)venture by the BBC Singers and (Little) Fool in a Trance by Geoff Moore. For the last couple of years he has also worked as a Composer in Residence promoting new music in schools, and has recently completed a set of pieces commissioned by Josca's Preparatory School in Oxford.

Back to shortlist.